The Hiatus

I don’t know if you’d noticed, but I’ve been away from the blog for the last two weeks.  All the wise women of my family are standing behind my right shoulder at this moment, murmering about pride, and falls.  I can’t duck it, the truth is, I boldly wittered on about managing deadlines on here, a month or so ago, and then succumbed to a rising workload.

The Wisdom of Fools, by Ann Gover.

The Wisdom of Fools,
by Ann Gover.

My instinct is to make excuses.  Don’t worry, I’m not going to.  Because actually, once I’d missed the first deadline, and that was hard, it felt good to let go of the second one too.  Sometimes, I admitted to myself, I do take too much on.

For the last few days though, as my time for blogging grew closer, and with that backlog of reading and research completed, I’ve been wondering how I could set these posts into gear again.  Perhaps, I thought, I’d just launch in on a new subject, ignoring the gap.  With no explanation, it might seem that the missing entries existed somewhere, but had been mislaid.  However, since the feasible solution to that scenario is that I would be more likely to have accidentally deleted them than the nice, competent people at WordPress had lost them, I rejected that.

So, perhaps I could create content and pre-date it, I thought.  Then it would appear that the posts had been there all the time.  Silly readers, did you really miss my words of wisdom for two weeks?  Well, not to worry, I’ll let you off this time.

Smoke and mirrors, I thought.  Just like the worst crime fiction.  The author includes an obscure poison delivered by a character we’ve never heard mention of until the moment when the solution to the crime is revealed.  Surely I’ve more respect for my readers than that.

Time passes in fiction.  Sometimes it moves minute by minute, sometimes there is a break in the action.  We don’t need to see every cup of tea consumed or slice of toast buttered.  The action is implied in the writing at the ending of one paragraph and/or the beginning of the next.  Things that have no relevence to the dramatic arc might also happen.  The story steps round them and carries on.

So, ‘two weeks later, she returned to her routine, refreshed, after her short break.  She took out a new sheet of paper and began to make another list.  Perhaps this time, she might find time to spring-clean the office.’

Leave a Reply

